Allo' Expat Saudi Arabia - Connecting Expats in Saudi Arabia
Main Homepage
Allo' Expat Saudi Arabia Logo

Check our Rates

Check our Rates

Saudi Arabia Government

Saudi Arabia is a monarchy. Its official name is the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. Its constitution is the Holy Quran and the Muslim law, Sharia, which is based on the Holy Quran.

Directed by the Sharia, the King is the head of state and the Prime Minister. There is a Council of Ministers, which is appointed by the King and who help him in formulating and executing his policies. The King is also Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces. All government officials, agencies and the ministers themselves are responsible to the King whose title is Custodian of the Two Holy Mosques.

The King is assisted in his duties by the Crown Prince who is the Deputy Prime Minister and also by the second Deputy Prime Minister.

The linchpin of Saudi government policy is the majlis, an open meeting where anyone can petition his leaders from the King down to the governors of the provinces and local leaders. In other words, the leaders are accessible to the people.

An Overview :

Country name:
conventional long form: Kingdom of Saudi Arabia
conventional short form: Saudi Arabia
local long form: Al Mamlakah al Arabiyah as Suudiyah
local short form: Al Arabiyah as Suudiyah

Government type:


Administrative divisions:
13 provinces (mintaqat, singular - mintaqah); Al Bahah, Al Hudud ash Shamaliyah, Al Jawf, Al Madinah, Al Qasim, Ar Riyad, Ash Sharqiyah (Eastern Province), 'Asir, Ha'il, Jizan, Makkah, Najran, Tabuk

23 September 1932 (unification of the kingdom)

National holiday:
Unification of the Kingdom, 23 September (1932)

See more information on the next page... (next)




copyrights ©
2019 | Policy